5
\$\begingroup\$

Bespell Strikes adds 1d6 damage to a Strike after casting a Spell:

Requirements Your most recent action was to cast a non-cantrip spell

Conduct Energy adds 1 damage per weapon die after any activity or Spell:

Requirements Your last action or spell this turn had the acid, cold, electricity, fire, or sonic trait.

Tempest Touch satisfies both requirements, can I trigger both?

\$\endgroup\$

2 Answers 2

7
\$\begingroup\$

No

Your "most recent/last action" is changed once you use either ability. You either cast tempest touch then used Bespell Strikes and no longer qualify for using Conduct Energy, or you cast tempest touch and used Conduct Energy and no longer qualify for Bespell Strikes.

Even Free Actions and Reactions are types of Actions that can be your previous (or next) Action. This is the same reason you cannot stack Spellshape (formerly Metamagic) effects.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ that would apply but look at the wording "Your last action or spell that or tells me I could use the last spell I cast not just the last action I took. Spells aren't actions after all. \$\endgroup\$
    – Questor
    Commented May 1 at 17:17
5
\$\begingroup\$

Actually this is wrong. (you can use both)

Firstly you swapped the req for bespell and Conduct energy. But that don't really matter.

Strictly RAW you can use both.

First: you cast your spell

Secondly: you activate Bespell weapon

"Your most recent action was to cast a non-cantrip spell."

Which is true.

Thirdly: you activate Conduct Energy

"Your last action or spell this turn had the acid, cold, electricity, fire, or sonic trait."

Which is true.

The key is that your "last spell" did have that trait, and don't need to be from your last action used.

You can and there have been long debates about this and what is RaI here but it's clear that if they wanted to limit it more they could have written it a lot differently, especially since it works on everything with those traits, so we have to assume it deliberately.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ Good catch with the swap, fixed \$\endgroup\$
    – András
    Commented Apr 10 at 14:47

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .