6
\$\begingroup\$

Sneaking or scouting:

  • Will-O’-Wisp: 9 HD, Small, Fly 50 (perfect), Str 1, Dex 29, Con 10

Normally, you do not gain Special Abilities of a creature, however, you do gain abilities that are "natural abilities"

Natural Invisibility (Ex): A startled or frightened will-o’-wisp can extinguish its glow, effectively becoming invisible as the spell (questionable)

I saw this in a polymorph handbook for DND 3R. Is there a rule to support this, like an official definition of "natural ability"?

\$\endgroup\$

1 Answer 1

9
\$\begingroup\$

Natural abilities are defined on p. 180 of the Player's Handbook as:

Natural Abilities: This category includes abilities a creature has because of its physical nature, such as a bird's ability to fly. Natural abilities are those not otherwise designated as extraordinary, supernatural, or spell-like.

The will-o'-wisp's natural invisibility special quality says:

Natural Invisibility (Ex)

A startled or frightened will-o’-wisp can extinguish its glow, effectively becoming invisible as the spell.

So no, Natural Invisibility cannot be a natural ability, because it is designated as extraordinary.

Polymorph's description specifically calls out that the caster:

...does not gain the extraordinary special qualities possessed by the new form

...which unambiguously covers a will-o'-wisp's invisibility, so the spell will not make you invisible if you transform into a will-o'-wisp.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .