10
\$\begingroup\$

I noticed some weapons, like the Elven Thinblade, can qualify for Weapon Finesse despite being classified as one-handed weapons. Does this mean I can wield it two-handed for 150% of my Dex bonus? Alternately, how can a Swashbuckler/Rogue multiclass apply Dex to attack rolls?

\$\endgroup\$
3
9
\$\begingroup\$

They are not mutually exclusive

And in fact there's even one weapon that's two-handed but finessable (the Spiked Chain). You can Power Attack with a finesse'd weapon as well, unless it's classified as a Light Weapon. Did the designers intend this? We'll never know, but the RAW is fairly clear on the matter.

There's no text in Weapon Finesse or the section on using a one-handed weapon in two hands that forbids it.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ Comments are not for extended discussion; this conversation has been moved to chat. \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    May 18 '20 at 7:14
0
\$\begingroup\$

Nothing in their respective descriptions states that they are mutually exclusive (Though Light weapons state they can't be used two-handed, and Natural Weapons cannot be two-handed for obvious reasons)

If the weapon says it qualifies for Weapon Finesse, it means just that: You can use Weapon Finesse with that weapon. It does not imply anything else on its own.

Therefore: No, you cannot use 1.5*DEX to attack with a two-handed Finesse weapon (nor can you use 1.5*STR with any 2H weapon; it's for damage.)

Swashbuckler/Rogue can use DEX for Attack by using a weapon that can be used with Weapon Finesse (that Swashbucklers get at 1st level). Such weapons include: all light and natural weapons, Rapier, Spiked Chain, Whip, and others not in the PHB.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .