I am playing a new character that uses a lot of sustained zones, and I'd like to understand exactly how they work. In the compendium for "Sustained Durations" the only restriction it lists is:

The creature can sustain a particular effect only once per round and for no more than 5 minutes. During that time, the creature cannot take a short or an extended rest.

Other than the obvious requirement of being able to spend the required action (e.g. minor action for a sustain minor), are there other requirements? Do I need to be within some range of the zone? Do I need to have line of sight/effect to the zone?


It depends on whether you can move the zone.

The only requirements for sustaining a zone are that you 1) spend the required action every round (unless you use an ability to eliminate this requirement, such as Mordenkainen's Lucubration), and 2) you don't take a rest of any kind.

Note that there is 1 additional requirement for movable zones. From page 121 of the Rules Compendium:

Movable Zones: If the power used to create a zone allows it to be moved, it's a movable zone. At the end of the creator's turn, a movable zone ends if the creator doesn't have line of effect to at least 1 square of the zone or if the creator isn't within range (using the power's range) of at least 1 square of the zone. A zone can't be moved through blocking terrain.

If the zone cannot be moved then the line of effect & range limitations do not apply.

| improve this answer | |
  • \$\begingroup\$ This is exactly what I was looking for. I'm not sure why the entry for Movable Zones does not show up in the compendium - only for Movable Conjurations. Thanks. \$\endgroup\$ – jbabey Jan 21 '13 at 16:49

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.