Can anyone help clear up the prices of magic arms and armor? I am looking at some magic special abilities and they have entries that say things like Price +1 bonus, for example, the magic weapon special ability flaming.

I know that before such an item can have a magic armor or weapon special ability, the item must first have a +1 enhancement bonus. A +1 enhancement bonus is, on its own, 2,000 gp. Does the magic weapon special ability flaming add a different +1 to that 2,000 gp price for a total price of 4,000 gp? Or is the total +2 enhancement bonus combined so that the weapon's price is 8,000g? (This doesn't include the separate prices for the item and its masterwork component, of course.)

  • \$\begingroup\$ I feel like I've answered this question, more or less, before... Voting to close as a duplicate. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Feb 5 '13 at 1:45
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @KRyan I think the answer is about the same but the question's point of difficulty is different enough to fall under loving the non-exact duplicate. \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Feb 5 '13 at 5:11

When special abilities modify the enhancement bonus, you use the total enhancement bonus to determine cost. This applies to weapons, armor and shields.

Special abilities count as additional bonuses for determining the market value of the item, but do not modify attack or damage bonuses (except where specifically noted). A single weapon cannot have a modified bonus (enhancement bonus plus special ability bonus equivalents) higher than +10.

Your example of a +1 Flaming weapon has a +2 enhancement bonus and thus costs 8000g + base item and masterworking.

Some qualities from outside of the SRD have direct cost modifiers like +300gp. These just add on to the price instead of changing the enhancement bonus.

  • \$\begingroup\$ I believe there is a caveat of an additional cost for multiple unrelated enchants. For instance a Keen Flaming shortsword? \$\endgroup\$ – Ben-Jamin Feb 5 '13 at 0:10
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ You'll have to give a citation for that. Sounds like a houserule to me. \$\endgroup\$ – Simon Gill Feb 5 '13 at 0:12
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ @Ben-Jamin There is no such additional cost when stacking weapon or armor enhancements. You may be thinking of the cost-addition rules for creating combined wondrous items, from the Magic Item Compendium. \$\endgroup\$ – Ernir Feb 5 '13 at 0:57
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Ben-Jamin You might also be thinking of the extra 2,000 gp that has to be paid when enchanting a cold iron weapon, which by RAW was paid every single time you added another enchantment. I think every GM I've ever met houseruled that it only had to be paid the first time, though. \$\endgroup\$ – GMJoe Feb 5 '13 at 4:03
  • \$\begingroup\$ I think @Ernir hit what I was talking about..my last DM must have combined it into weapos with a houserule which explains why I could never find the reference \$\endgroup\$ – Ben-Jamin Feb 5 '13 at 14:57

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.