7
\$\begingroup\$

Does a player that becomes an outsider as part of a class feature still count as being humanoid for the purposes of things like favored enemy?

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ Do they still have two arms, two legs, one head, and roughly bilateral symmetry? \$\endgroup\$ Commented Feb 24, 2013 at 5:21

1 Answer 1

10
\$\begingroup\$

No

Favored Enemy specifically tracks types and subtypes of creatures; becoming an Outsider supplants your normal type, changing the Favored Enemy types you count under. In the flavor, Outsiders are composed of a different essence than other Material beings, making their essence and anatomy subtly different. In RAW, it's a simple type change, with all the things that entails.

For more on Favored Enemy, check the SRD link here, but the important part is here:

Favored Enemy (Ex) At 1st level, a ranger may select a type of creature from among those given on Table: Ranger Favored Enemies. The ranger gains a +2 bonus on Bluff, Listen, Sense Motive, Spot, and Survival checks when using these skills against creatures of this type. Likewise, he gets a +2 bonus on weapon damage rolls against such creatures.

Emphasis mine.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • \$\begingroup\$ Technically, there are some really obscure rules regarding type change that have you gain the "Augmented" subtype with your original type. I.e. Outsider (Augmented Humanoid (Human), Native). I don't know whether or not those rules have a clause saying you count as your original type for things, though. \$\endgroup\$
    – KRyan
    Commented Feb 24, 2013 at 15:47
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ As far as I knew, those sorts of subtypes were given on a case-by-case basis depending on the class/template involved. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Feb 24, 2013 at 16:27

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .