One of my players wants to play an unarmed fighter. What I need to know is; do spiked gauntlets count as weapons or as armor for the purposes of enchanting?


They count as weapons, and can be enhanced as such.

The problem is that they count as separate weapons from Unarmed Strikes, which means anything he does to improve Unarmed Strikes is not going to improve his Spiked Gauntlets. If he’s planning on Monk or anything similar, I strongly recommend that you ignore this fact entirely and houserule that they take on the damage of his Unarmed Strike if it is higher than the Spiked Gauntlets would be.

  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Not a problem if he uses plain Gauntlet - "A strike with a gauntlet is otherwise considered an unarmed attack". \$\endgroup\$ Mar 1 '13 at 8:33
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @JeorMattan Define "otherwise" there: I'd think that it would only include things not otherwise described... which the Gauntlet's damage is. \$\endgroup\$
    – KRyan
    Mar 1 '13 at 12:26
  • \$\begingroup\$ Away from books atm, but if I recall correctly, it describes only damage type, not the exact amount of damage, which falls into the "otherwise" area. \$\endgroup\$ Mar 3 '13 at 11:28
  • \$\begingroup\$ You do not recall correctly. \$\endgroup\$
    – mxyzplk
    Mar 3 '13 at 16:37
  • \$\begingroup\$ @mxyzplk Well, the description itself mentions only the damage type, saying that they otherwise act as an unarmed strike. The weapons table lists both the unarmed strike and gauntlet as dealing the same damage, so it seems a stretch to say that the "otherwise" does not refer to damage. The FAQ agrees with me here (p21), though it points out that gauntlets are not monk weapons. \$\endgroup\$
    – starwed
    Mar 3 '13 at 17:32

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .