I rolled a 20 for initiative in a pickup game today and I realized that I didn't know if that was supposed to be treated specially, like some other rolls treat a natural 20.

Does rolling a natural 20 for initiative confer anything special to the roller in any version of D&D, Pathfinder, or other D&D variant?

  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Okay. I've edited the background context into your question. That might prevent it from being closed. Idle curiosity/speculation questions tend to get closed, so knowing why this is a question that needs an answer is helpful! \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Mar 21 '13 at 0:30
  • \$\begingroup\$ I'm not sure whether this is a rule, or just how I've played (thus not an answer), but I treat it as an automatic first in the order UNLESS someone else gets a natural 20 AND has a higher initiative bonus. \$\endgroup\$ – PixelArtDragon Mar 21 '13 at 3:58

No, there is not.

Generally, “checks” (ability checks, skill checks, initiative checks) do not have critical effects, and there are some very good reasons for that (5% failure rate is inappropriate for most of them, plus in many cases what would happen on “auto-success” is very unclear: take Jump for example).

Natural-1s on saving throws, attack rolls, some of the opposed rolls (grappling, etc), is auto-failure. Natural-20s on the same rolls, and so on, is auto-success. In attacks’ case, there is also a chance of a critical hit on a natural-20 (or less for some weapons).

Generally speaking, expanding these rules to other sorts of checks is very ill-advised.

  • \$\begingroup\$ I remember reading somewhere that auto-success stops odd things happening like taking 20 to jump over the moon. \$\endgroup\$ – StuperUser Mar 21 '13 at 0:20
  • 7
    \$\begingroup\$ @StuperUser Other way around: lack of auto-success on Jump checks prevents that. It also prevents that weird "5% chance to forget your mother's name" or whatever on the nat-1 side. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Mar 21 '13 at 0:40

Not that I am aware of. Also, natural 20s on skill rolls don't generally give any special benefit, although house rules may change that. Natural 20s on saving throws do auto-succeed, but other than that, have no extra benefits.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Actually, saving throws use natural 20s and natural 1s just as attack rolls do, in D&D 3.5 at least. \$\endgroup\$ – Zachiel Mar 20 '13 at 23:14
  • \$\begingroup\$ 3.0, likewise, has benefits from nat 20 on skill rolls and saves, as well as attacks. Initiative is a stat roll, and the stat/skill nat20 may open end as 1d20+10+mods is still an official option... not one that most employ, however. \$\endgroup\$ – aramis Mar 20 '13 at 23:26
  • \$\begingroup\$ 3.5 has no benefits from a 20 on a skill check. I did miss the auto-save, though. Also, not familliar with any open-ending in d20 aramis. \$\endgroup\$ – YogoZuno Mar 21 '13 at 7:40
  • \$\begingroup\$ @YogoZuno check in the optional rules in the DMG. \$\endgroup\$ – aramis Mar 23 '13 at 3:17

In 4e I don't think natural 20 on initiative is anything special. Your DM could have house rules on that beyond the core rules. One thing I might do is if someone rolled a natural 20 on initiative at the start of an encounter, they may get a surprise round against the enemies(if one is not already in motion).


Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.