I am fairly new to running Cyberpunk 2020, and wanted to make sure I am doing this right. On the PC sheet, Reflex is divided by a '/' mark. I assume it is for modifiers to the ability. Is this correct?


It is intended for conditionally boosted reflexes, which is the on and off values for the Sandevistan speedware if you have it. Of course, at some point I guess everyone nerfs the reflex boosters into "initiative only" and write the initiative value there as Xabei said.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Well, it is explicitly written in the rules that Sandevistan and Kerenzikov only add to Initiative. For real REF adds, you have to get the Adrenal Booster, or go to space or Europe for some exclusive treatments. \$\endgroup\$ – Xabei Apr 8 '13 at 22:22
  • \$\begingroup\$ Xabei, which edition of the book do you have? \$\endgroup\$ – edgerunner Apr 9 '13 at 8:18
  • \$\begingroup\$ Reads as such (initiative for Sandevistan and boosterware) in mine (2nd edition) \$\endgroup\$ – Rob Apr 9 '13 at 14:08
  • \$\begingroup\$ I have version 2.01, the one with the new artwork. A huge visual step down. :) \$\endgroup\$ – Xabei Apr 9 '13 at 15:19
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ I was the GM, and I ended up nerfing it as well. Too much for too cheap otherwise. \$\endgroup\$ – edgerunner Apr 9 '13 at 21:36

AFAIK, it is for cases when REF differs for initiative and skill resolution (e.g. Sandevistan and Kerenzikov boosts).


I believe that certain kinds of armor also involve a REF penalty, so the slash would divide you into armored/unarmored REF. But a true 'punk is never going without armor, neh?


Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.