I looked around online, but again couldn't find an answer. I also saw the Dragon Magazine articles from issues 409 and 374, but want a diffinative ruling.

When you take the Blackstaff Apprentice theme, it says you learn Magic Missile (if you did not already have it) and once per encounter you can use it as a minor action instead of a standard.

Wizard's Fury Power says you must know Magic Missile (as a wizard at-will) and can use it once per turn as a a minor action.

Can the two be used together for a missile each turn this way, or does the theme power override this?

Thanks in advance.


I don't see a reason why not.

From Blackstaff Apprentice,

Blackstaff Apprentice Starting Feature (1st level): You gain the magic missile power if you do not already have it. Once per encounter you can use magic missile as a minor action instead of a standard action.

Wizard's Fury says

Prerequisite: You must know the magic missile at-will wizard power.

You certainly know the power. I see no reason to disallow this combination. I'd even say that a Blackstaff Apprentice with Wizard's Fury active could, once, use all three actions in a round to cast Magic Missile (normal standard action, minor from theme, minor from Wizard's Fury).

The theme requires you to be a wizard (who easily has access to Magic Missile anyway), so unless I'm missing something I don't see the potential for abuse.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Arcanist would have to burn an at-will spot to get it. This doesn't make sense as a theme for a Mage. \$\endgroup\$ – wax eagle Sep 9 '13 at 18:53
  • \$\begingroup\$ Right - Best case scenario is you're a wizard who doesn't get magic missile by default. You've then freed up a level 1 at-will slot since you don't have to take it. Otherwise all you're getting from the theme (at level 1, at least) is the encounter minor. \$\endgroup\$ – dpatchery Sep 9 '13 at 19:05
  • \$\begingroup\$ There is also a nice case if you're an MC wizard and want to take the wizard's fury power swap. you could get some mileage out of this that way \$\endgroup\$ – wax eagle Sep 9 '13 at 19:50
  • \$\begingroup\$ Sadly, Magic Missile is the only ranged spell that can be used as a basic ranged attack, so by using them together, I loose the ability to make multiple basic ranged attacks unless I get a projectile weapon to compensate (not good if there's a Warlord in the party, but fortunately, there isn't one in my party). I just need to reach level 9 so I can get Melf's Minute Meteors for three attacks per turn. >:) \$\endgroup\$ – John W Sep 10 '13 at 11:59

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.