So, let's say I'm multiclassing Barbarian and Fighter and I take climb as a skill. Would I get a +3 from both classes, or only from one?

  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to rpg.se! Please take a look at the tour and the help; they're a useful introduction to the site. And once you have 20+ rep, feel free to join the chat! \$\endgroup\$ – BESW Oct 10 '13 at 3:31
  • \$\begingroup\$ Please include which system you’re using as a tag in questions. This one seems almost-certainly to be Pathfinder, but there are thousands of systems out there. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Oct 10 '13 at 3:32

No, the Class Skill bonuses are a one-time-only (per skill) thing.1 See the PFSRD:

Class Skills

In addition, each class has a number of favored skills, called class skills. It is easier for your character to become more proficient in these skills, as they represent part of his professional training and constant practice. You gain a +3 bonus on all class skills that you put ranks into. If you have more than one class and both grant you a class skill bonus, these bonuses do not stack.

(emphasis mine)

Multiclassing does give you the +3 bonus to any skills you already had, but had not previously been a class skill, however.

If you select a level in a new class, all of its class skills are automatically added to your list of class skills, and you gain a +3 bonus on these skills if you have ranks in them.

Really minor footnote, probably not worth reading:

1 Super-strictly speaking, you do have the bonus twice, but since they are equal and do not stack, that will never become relevant (i.e. you have a +3 bonus and a +3 bonus, and have to pick just one – it doesn’t end up mattering which you pick).

  • \$\begingroup\$ I think you have to difference two things. First: You get +3 on class skills. Second: On multiclassing any skills may become class skills. If a skill is already a class skill it won´t develop any further. But I guess it´s just another wording. \$\endgroup\$ – Doc Snuggles Oct 14 '13 at 8:35
  • \$\begingroup\$ @DocSnuggles Yes, that’s what I’m saying, or rather what the rules are saying. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Oct 14 '13 at 14:09

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.