I understand the ruling on epic spells per day, and how many epic spells know, but does the 'seed' itself count as a spell itself that takes up one of the slots? I am reading Epic Spellcasting in the SRD and I am not quite sure if it counts as a spell known or not?

I am a level 25 sorcerer.


1 Answer 1


It does not count as a spell

Seeds are used only during the development part of creating an epic spell and have no effect on how many epic spells you may prepare or cast, though they are fundamental part of creating an epic spell or spells.

As far as I can tell (checking here and more specifically here) there's no actual 'seeds known'; seeds are not learned, simply used. With that in mind there may be a contradicting source from outside of the SRD, and certain epic prestige classes interact with specific seeds (for example, the Netherese Arcanist from the Player's Guide to Faerun)

  • \$\begingroup\$ +1 for answering the direct question. As a suggestion, you could extend this by explaining how seeds are gained/known/tracked. \$\endgroup\$ Dec 17, 2013 at 22:51
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ As far as I'm aware, they're not! That said I expanded my answer with that information. \$\endgroup\$ Dec 17, 2013 at 22:59
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ I understood it the same way. Seeds are mostly a way of letting the DM figure out how to set the DC, reach, and limitations of an Epic spell. \$\endgroup\$
    – Roflo
    Dec 18, 2013 at 18:04
  • \$\begingroup\$ I'm guessing Seeds are the sort of thing you can just look up from the proper tomes you keep lying around the arcane laboratory you undoubtedly would need and have access to as an epic-level caster trying to make a new spell. \$\endgroup\$
    – Cobalt
    Feb 14, 2014 at 22:26

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .