When you gain Constitution by leveling up and your mod increases do you gain past levels in health?

For example,

A gunslinger has 13 con which makes a +1 mod. If they roll 4 each level at level 4 they would have 20 health. They put their gained point into con increasing the mod to +2.

Would that effect only future levels or would you increase your health to 24?

Would it effect your current level making your health 21?


If a character's Constitution score changes enough to alter his or her Constitution modifier, the character's hit points also increase or decrease accordingly.

Any changes to your Con affect all relevant HD. This rule can be found in both Pathfinder and D&D 3.5.

  • \$\begingroup\$ No problem, just happened to be looking at the right time \$\endgroup\$ – CatLord Jan 6 '14 at 20:24
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ CatLord: Updated it to cover both PF and 3.5, since the rule is the same. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Jan 6 '14 at 21:34
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ The same is true for any change in Constitution score (ability drain/damage, spell effect, poison, rage ability, et al). \$\endgroup\$ – Wyrmwood Jan 6 '14 at 21:59
  • \$\begingroup\$ @wyrmwood Mostly true but worth mentioning that in PF ability drain/damage works differently - you get -1 per 2 points regardless of what your stat is (odd or even) - e.g. 14 CON and 1 point of CON damage = no effect yet. \$\endgroup\$ – mxyzplk Jan 7 '14 at 15:14
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Weird. Why penalize someone further for an otherwise useless odd point? \$\endgroup\$ – Wyrmwood Jan 7 '14 at 18:58

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.