If a character is 10 ft. from an enemy wielding Reach weapon, does moving five feet closer into their threatened area provoke an attack of opportunity?


If the attacker threatens the square in question and the mover is moving more than just taking a 5 foot step, then yes.

If the mover is just taking a 5 foot step, or that square is not threatened by the attacker, then no.

For further reading.

| improve this answer | |
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ To be clear, the "square in question" is the starting square. AOOs occur when you leave a threatened square with a move action, not when you enter one. Also, though the templates make this clear, it might be worth noting that reach weapons do not threaten adjacent squares. \$\endgroup\$ – ladenedge Jan 14 '14 at 20:06
  • \$\begingroup\$ I would add that there are other methods to avoid this AoO from Reach- what comes to mind are the Spring Attack and Ride-by Attack feats; both indicate that you don't provoke from the target for your movement. Another important note- you don't provoke multiple AoO from the same movement (ie if a Large creature with a Reach weapon threatens 15 and 20ft away, you only provoke when moving from 20ft to 15ft, not when you continue from 15 to 10 or closer). \$\endgroup\$ – Ifusaso Aug 11 '16 at 20:58

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.