11
\$\begingroup\$

Is a true neutral character restricted by alignment from casting a spell that is, say lawful or chaotic, or can he/she cast a spell no matter if its affected by an alignment. (A lawful character can't cast a chaotic spell and a good character can't cast an evil spell, vice versa)

\$\endgroup\$
20
\$\begingroup\$

Only Clerics really care

Clerics cannot cast spells of an alignment opposed to their own. A TN cleric has no opposing alignment and, as a result, can cast aligned spells freely.

But...

Casting a spell with an alignment descriptor - like [Lawful] - counts as committing an act of that alignment, no matter what you used it for. Cast enough such spells consistently and you'll see an alignment shift take place. This is true for any character, even if they cast the spells from wands or scrolls.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ It would take a lot of casting of aligned spells to shift your alignment if you’re not using them in a manner particularly in keeping with that alignment. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Jan 28 '14 at 21:27
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Depends on the spell, I suppose. It's hard, for example, to use Blasphemy in a non-evil fashion. \$\endgroup\$ – Lord_Gareth Jan 28 '14 at 21:27
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I can think of several (fighting a fallen angel, still susceptible due to his [Good] subtype, self-defense against a mix of morally-neutral enemies, etc.) \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Jan 28 '14 at 21:29
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Suppose you are a cleric of a nature god who doesn't care about good or evil. Using Blasphemy to fight an angle leading a group of people to develop the woods could be perfectly within the neutral faith, provided you don't do it a lot. That said, you might want to Holy Word some feinds or something afterwards, just in case. \$\endgroup\$ – Canageek Jan 28 '14 at 21:51
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @KRyan depends on your GM. \$\endgroup\$ – Please stop being evil Dec 31 '14 at 0:55

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.