In Savage Worlds you run by rolling a d6 + your pace for movement. Can this d6 ace (otherwise known as explode)?

  • \$\begingroup\$ What do you mean by "explode"? \$\endgroup\$
    – LeguRi
    Oct 12, 2010 at 12:38
  • \$\begingroup\$ It's a savage worlds concept. If you roll may in certain situations, you reroll and add the numbers. Dice can explode any number of times, giving them an infinite distribution. \$\endgroup\$
    – C. Ross
    Oct 12, 2010 at 12:50
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ The Savage Worlds term is "ace" \$\endgroup\$
    – rjstreet
    Oct 12, 2010 at 20:34
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I believe the term 'explode' comes from Feng Shui, where if you have an adventure without an explosion you're doing something wrong. \$\endgroup\$
    – GMJoe
    Jun 14, 2012 at 2:23
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Actually, many games call this mechanic as "exploding dice", so it's perfectly fine to use here. \$\endgroup\$
    – ShadowKras
    Jan 11, 2019 at 14:58

1 Answer 1


No. Only Trait and damage dice can ace—running dice cannot. (Savage Worlds Explorer's Edition, p. 57 ... or p.70 in the Deluxe Explorer's Edition)

  • \$\begingroup\$ Yes, this is the correct answer as per the rules. \$\endgroup\$
    – olajostein
    Oct 12, 2010 at 12:14
  • \$\begingroup\$ Besides, consider how ridiculous it would be if the dice kept exploding making the character run half a mile in a single round! \$\endgroup\$ Jul 2, 2013 at 16:32
  • \$\begingroup\$ WELLLL... don't get me wrong, I love Savage Worlds. However, suddenly running half a klick is really no more ridiculous than someone desperately using a dagger and eviscerating an ogre because the damage dice kept exploding. \$\endgroup\$
    – Blaze
    Feb 19, 2022 at 22:32

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .