8
\$\begingroup\$

The Wall of Fire specifies that 3 extra squares of movement (for a total of 4 squares) are required to enter a wall of fire. Does this apply to forced movement?

Typically, forced movement ignores difficult or hindering terrain. However, neither of these terms is used in the Wall of Fire power.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ You can use forced movement to move a creature into hindering terrain. They do get a saving throw though. \$\endgroup\$ – Pat Ludwig Oct 14 '10 at 0:46
3
\$\begingroup\$

After some pondering I think Brian's answer is correct.

Forced movement should pay the extra +3 for each square of the Wall of Fire entered.

The Rules Compendium covers Forced Movement on pages 211-213. It notes that difficult terrain is ignored. No mention is made of hindering terrain. The section on hindering terrain (p207) notes that you get a saving throw if you are push/pull/slide/teleported into it.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ ::nod:: extra movement cost doesn't equate to hindering terrain. \$\endgroup\$ – Brian Ballsun-Stanton Oct 14 '10 at 1:47
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Iszi Correct on all points. \$\endgroup\$ – Pat Ludwig Oct 14 '10 at 13:32
  • \$\begingroup\$ Removed earlier comment due to some inaccuracy - the issue of whether a Wall of Fire does or does not constitute hindering terrain, is still the subject of some debate. Still, it is agreed that the +3 movement penalty should apply to forced movement into a Wall of Fire. \$\endgroup\$ – Iszi Oct 15 '10 at 4:41

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.