5
\$\begingroup\$

I have a player who plays a multi-class swordmage/warden. Each class gives him the capability to mark a target. Last encounter he used the marking ability of the swordmage as well as the marking ability of the warden to mark one enemy with each.

I understand that marking can't stack, but can a player mark two different targets? I always assumed if you mark a target, then you somewhat focus on it, right? So marking a second target should not be allowed, or should it?

Also to mention one marking ability is for close target, the other is for a rather distant target, like an archer.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ The key here is the lack of ability to enforce multiple marks. Most classes only get to enforce their marks 1/round (via immediate actions). \$\endgroup\$ – wax eagle Mar 17 '14 at 14:27
13
\$\begingroup\$

There is no rule limiting the number of targets an individual can have marked at any given time.

A number of abilities, including the Warden's basic mark ability Nature's Wrath, explicitly state the possibility of marking multiple targets:

a warden can mark each adjacent enemy until the end of the warden's next turn.

Marks from multiple sources are no exception to this.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.