The answer is probably, "no you have burn another feat for this," but I wanted to ask the community anyway.

I am looking at taking the Eldritch Heritage feat with my Dhampir Oracle and one of the requirements is:

Skill Focus with the class skill of bloodline selected for this feat

I already have the skill as a class skill and have ranks in it so does that count or do I have to take the Skill Focus feat first?

I assume if it were Class Skill or Skill Focus then the text would say so, but I just want to make sure I am not missing something that would allow me to skip taking an extra feat to get this one.

  • \$\begingroup\$ The "class skill" bit means the skill is the relevant Class Skill for the Bloodline you select, not that you have it as a Class Skill. The only requirement is the Skill Focus. \$\endgroup\$
    – Wlerin
    Commented Mar 19, 2014 at 11:56

1 Answer 1


You're not missing anything.
If the text says the feat is a prerequisite, it is.
The only case where I could see a way to avoid that would be any other feat that "counts as Skill Focus for satisfying the prerequisites of other feats/PrCs/other" (D&D 3.5 had a couple of similar ones, e.g. Desert Wind Dodge substituting Dodge)

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ 3.5’s Aereni Focus is an example of a feat explicitly qualifying as Skill Focus, for what it’s worth. \$\endgroup\$
    – KRyan
    Commented Mar 17, 2014 at 19:17
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thanks. I am creating a new character starting at lvl 10 and had two feat slots left to pick. I guess I just filled them both up. \$\endgroup\$
    – James
    Commented Mar 17, 2014 at 19:23
  • \$\begingroup\$ @James: you might want to wait 2-3 days before accepting an answer. People might stop answering if they see there's already one accepted answer (they shouldn't, anyway) and theirs might be better than mine. \$\endgroup\$
    – Zachiel
    Commented Mar 17, 2014 at 20:33
  • \$\begingroup\$ Okay. I'll remember that for the future. \$\endgroup\$
    – James
    Commented Mar 17, 2014 at 20:35

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .