4
\$\begingroup\$

If you don't have multiple attacks from your BAB but you have a double weapon like a quarterstaff, do you get multiple attacks if you take a full-round action or do you still need the bonus from the BAB for that to be valid?

\$\endgroup\$
11
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, a creature that wields a double weapon and that takes the full attack action can make 1 extra attack

Even if a creature lacks the feat Two-weapon Fighting and the creature's base attack bonus is less than +6, when wielding a double weapon and taking the full attack action the creature can make 1 additional attack. That's because according to the Combat Section on Double Weapons...

You can use a double weapon to make an extra attack with the off-hand end of the weapon as if you were fighting with two weapons. The penalties apply as if the off-hand end of the weapon was a light weapons. [sic]

But without the feat Two-weapon Fighting or similar ability the standard penalties for two-weapon fighting apply: a −4 penalty on the attack roll with the first attack with either head of the double weapon, and a −8 penalty on the attack roll for the second attack with the other head of the double weapon.

So while a creature untrained in the art of two-weapon fighting could make that extra attack, it probably shouldn't unless circumstances are really stacked in its favor.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Anonymous User: Absent the feat Two-weapon Fighting, the penalty for fighting with two weapons (when the off-hand weapon's a light weapon) or for fighting with a double weapon (while using it as a double weapon) is, in fact and for-reals, −4 for the first attack and −8 for the second. However, if the wielder possesses the feat Two-weapon Fighting, the −4 and the −8 penalties are reduced to −2 each. Again, it says exactly that on the linked table. (Also, editing an answer to dispute it is really bad form.) \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Apr 13 '16 at 17:38

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.