I'm fairly certain starting merits aren't bought sequentially:

Merit dots must be purchased sequentially with experience points. You have to buy • and then •• before your character can have ••• or more.

Conversely I assume when not spending experience points, you can jump to ••• if you spend three points.

Is this correct?

  • \$\begingroup\$ I'm mainly asking about the Professional Training merit, as it seems off for it not to be the case. BUt I figured it holds for everything. \$\endgroup\$ Mar 31, 2014 at 20:54

1 Answer 1


Not as you wrote it, but yes.

You can devote three Merit dots at character creation to a scaled merit like Professional Training.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ By points above I meant dots (as opposed to experience points). \$\endgroup\$ Mar 31, 2014 at 21:42
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @Pureferret Oh, I figured. But points and dots (and now, with GMC, beats and experiences) all mean different things. Just wanted to be clear. \$\endgroup\$
    – Jadasc
    Mar 31, 2014 at 21:48

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .