10
\$\begingroup\$

In the Class sections, each class Spell DC is stated as "8 + your [Ability] modifier." So for example, a Mage with 16 Intelligence would have a Spell DC of 11. However, on page 28 of How To Play, it lists the Spell DC is "10 + your magic ability modifier." That would give our Mage a Spell DC of 13. Can someone clarify this for me, please?

\$\endgroup\$
13
\$\begingroup\$

The How to play document has a typo. It's DC = 8 + ability modifier + proficiency.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Looks like a bit of dried-on copy-pasta, that is, they copied the phrasing from 3.5 and forgot to change the numbers everywhere. \$\endgroup\$ – BESW Apr 1 '14 at 6:32
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ In earlier versions of the Next playtest the DC was 10+ it was later nerfed to 8+ \$\endgroup\$ – Ben-Jamin Apr 3 '14 at 0:57

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.