For example, the Unicorn entry in the bestiary says Languages: common, sylvan

Does that mean the unicorn can speak and understand both or just understand common but not speak it?

I thought I remembered reading something about this in a book but can't remember which one.


It'll say

The format that gets used is this:

  • If it just lists languages, the creature can speak, understand, and read the languages.

  • If it says 'understands', the creature can understand and read the indicated languages.

  • \$\begingroup\$ thanks, I knew I saw it somewhere but I couldn't remember if it was in a rule section or right on the entries. Really appreciate it! \$\endgroup\$ – Nerevar Apr 1 '14 at 21:54

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.