12
\$\begingroup\$

The two feats Saving Shield And Bodyguard allow you to grant bonuses to adjacent allies who are being attacked. If a character with both feats is defending an adjacent ally would both feats apply? One uses an immediate action and the other uses An attack of opportunity action.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Just note that saving shield would not stack with any shield bonus the ally already has. \$\endgroup\$ – Umbranus Sep 10 '16 at 16:14
8
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, because their bonus types stack and they use compatible actions.

At the expense of an immediate action and an AoO, you can grant your Ally +4 to his AC for one attack. Note that Saving Shield will last for the entire attack or full attack, Bodyguard only for one attack, though you can use it multiple times a round.


Saving shield grants a +2 shield bonus, which does not stack with any other shield bonuses your ally might have.

Aid Another grants

[...] a +2 bonus to AC against that opponent's next attack [...]

Since no type is specified, it is an untyped bonus. These generally stack with all other bonus types.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Just keep in mind that for Bodyguard to work, the enemy must be in your threatened area, and the ally must be adjacent to you. If you are using a weapon without reach (or dont have reach yourself), both of them must be adjacent to you. I dont see a note of duration on saving shield, and nothing on the wording seems to indicate that it should last for more than one attack, so, since it requires an Immediate Action, i dont think you can use Saving Shield to grant +2 to AC against a full attack, it should work only on one attack, as you only have one Immediate Action per round. \$\endgroup\$ – ShadowKras Jun 15 '15 at 14:10
7
\$\begingroup\$

You can use one or both or none, depending on action economy, location of opponent, and your current status/condition.

If the opponent who is attacking is outside your threatened range, you can not use Aid Another, thus Bodyguard is not usable.

If you are flat-footed, unless you have an additional feat such as Combat Reflexes* or a class feature like Uncanny Dodge, you can not do either.

Otherwise the shield bonus and untyped bonus will stack giving a +4 to your ally's AC.

*Edit:The Bodyguard feat has Combat Reflexes as a pre-req, so of course you will have it.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ The ruling here on the bodyguard feat is wrong. As of now there is no official ruling on the feat, however the author, Jason Nelson, posted this. \$\endgroup\$ – user27734 Mar 7 '16 at 5:45
  • \$\begingroup\$ *Also a Ranger with the Guardian Combat Style could get Bodyguard without Combat Reflexes. \$\endgroup\$ – Jared Rosenberg Aug 5 at 3:21

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.