2
\$\begingroup\$

An alchemist can add formulae to his book just like a wizard adds spells to his spellbook, using the same costs and time requirements.

But it's not mentioned same "Spellcraft check" so I'm confused.

\$\endgroup\$
3
\$\begingroup\$

Alchemists aren't mentioned in the Spellcraft skill simply because the Alchemist wasn't around when the Core rules were written and it's never been updated.

The only key difference between a wizard learning and an alchemist is that alchemists do not need to decipher arcane writings before copying them.

Therefore, to copy a spell/formula to your formula book:

  1. Get a spell/scroll/formula book with a formula that an alchemist can use.
  2. If you were a Wizard you'd have to Understand the text DC 20 + the spell's level. Failure means trying again the next day. But alchemists don't need to do this.
  3. Study the formula for an hour.
  4. Understand the formula DC 15 + the formula/spell's level. Failure means try again in a week.
  5. Copy the formula into your own book. This takes 1 hour per formula level (0 = 1/2 hour) This takes 1 page/level and costs money to pay for materials (see below)
  6. If this was on a scroll then that scroll is used up and useless.

Note that you can take 10 on these checks if "your character is not in immediate danger or distracted".

Lvl Cost
0   5 gp
1   10 gp
2   40 gp
3   90 gp
4   160 gp
5   250 gp
6   360 gp
7   490 gp
8   640 gp
9   810 gp

Being a Wizard or an alchemist is expensive.

\$\endgroup\$
6
  • \$\begingroup\$ Do you have an official source indicating that the Alchemist was meant to follow these rules, or is this your personal speculation? \$\endgroup\$ – TheRubberDuck May 2 '14 at 17:49
  • \$\begingroup\$ @EnvisionAndDevelop It's right in the linked description of the alchemist. "An alchemist can also add formulae to his book just like a wizard adds spells to his spellbook, using the same costs and time requirements" and " An alchemist does not need to decipher arcane writings before copying them." \$\endgroup\$ – starwed May 2 '14 at 18:18
  • \$\begingroup\$ @starwed I guess my confusion was about the first sentence. This answer indicates that the answer isn't in the alchemist rules, and gives an explanation as to why. In any case, step #4 above doesn't seem like it needs to be part of "costs and time requirements", so I was hoping for an official mention of that somewhere. \$\endgroup\$ – TheRubberDuck May 2 '14 at 18:29
  • \$\begingroup\$ @EnvisionAndDevelop I read the "cost and time" clause as a clarification, not a restriction. Especially given the later, more explicit statement about deciphering. \$\endgroup\$ – starwed May 2 '14 at 18:32
  • \$\begingroup\$ I see. I personally still think the first sentence is confusing, but I'm not sure what @Rob wanted to say, so I won't suggest an edit for that. \$\endgroup\$ – TheRubberDuck May 2 '14 at 18:54

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.