3
\$\begingroup\$

In Only War, do grenade launchers use the same grenades as the ones you can use as hand grenades? What about the auxiliary grenade launcher / underslung GL?

\$\endgroup\$
0
1
\$\begingroup\$

In the core Only War rule book there is the following sentence prefacing the table of explosives:

The explosives listed here can either be thrown by hand or loaded in a grenade launcher as grenades, used in missile launchers as missiles, or fired from mortars as rounds.

Additionally, the grenade launcher has the following bit of description:

The standard grenade launcher uses compressed gas charges to launch a variety of grenade types at the enemy.

Together, these lead me to believe that hand grenades and grenade launcher ammunition are in fact the same.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • \$\begingroup\$ But explosives doesn't mean grenades. A fragmentation missile and a fragmentation grenade might use the same basic explosive but that doesn't make them the same thing. Just because the rules say that the mechanical effect of the explosion of a hand grenade and a grenade from a grenade launcher is the same doesn't mean you can jam a hand grenade in a launcher and expect it to work. \$\endgroup\$ – Chryckan Oct 16 '14 at 18:37
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Sorry, I only saw your comment now. While I agree in the real world, this is about a rulebook which seemingly makes no distinction between hand grenades and GL grenades. Do you have any better sources than what I quoted? Like I said, the quotes I found seem to support my view, even though I'd agree that it should be wrong. \$\endgroup\$ – MarkZ May 6 '15 at 12:08

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.