I have a couple of questions regarding the flowing monks Redirection ability and utilizing combat maneuvers as attacks of opportunity.
At first level, as an immediate action, a flowing monk can attempt a reposition or trip combat maneuver against a creature that the flowing monk threatens and attacks him.
Special Attacks / Combat Maneuvers:
This section discusses all of the various standard maneuvers you can perform during combat other than normal attacks, casting spells, or using other class abilities. Some of these special attacks can be made as part of another action (such as an attack) or as an attack of opportunity.
It is from my understanding that one can make a trip or sunder attempt as an attack of opportunity. The rules state that combat maneuvers are treated as single attacks and attacks of opportunity provoke 'single attacks'.
Can reposition be made as an attack of opportunity?
If so how would that work if an opponent tries to move past you?
- Opponent may move 6 spaces and steps into the flowing monks threatened square as their first move
- The second move they provoke but the flowing monk does not utilize the attack of opportunity just yet
- The third move the flowing monk makes the attack and beats the opponents CMD by 5 allowing him to reposition the opponent 10ft
- The flowing monk moves the opponent 10 ft back leaving them back to where they stood after the first 5ft step.
At this point the opponent has used up 15ft but has only progressed 5.
Does the opponent stop moving from this point?
If the monk was of 8th level would he be able to use both a maneuver and trip ability as mentioned: "at 8th level, a flowing monk can make both a reposition and a trip maneuver as part of a single immediate action with this ability" Or does that only apply when he is being attached?
Does the redirection count towards the opponents total movement that round?
In the scenario above, the creature moved 15ft, was redirected 10ft, do they have 5ft left of movement? Or 15ft?
Final Question, does a mounted unit inherit the size of their mount when provoking attacks of opportunities through ride by attacks?
I ask this one because it states that most combat maneuvers cannot be made against creatures of a higher size category. Combat maneuvers like trip would make sense, you would only be 'tripping' the mount. However if my opponent was targeting a friendly PC behind me and provokes an attack of opportunity from me. Am I able to use a Reposition maneuver against the 'rider' not the mount! (A medium sized creature riding upon a large mount). If so would I be able to throw him from his horse or would that fall under "You cannot use this maneuver to move a foe into a space that is intrinsically dangerous, such as a pit or wall of fire."