Luring Strike is a swordmage melee at-will attack power found in Arcane Power. It's Hit line reads:

1[W] damage. You shift 1 square and slide the target 1 square into the space you occupied.

It also has an effect line:

Before or after the attack, you can shift 1 square.

I'm wondering if I could use this power to shift to an enemy and attack them, but not move them if I like their current position. I'm aware that normally with forced movement the number is a maximum, but I also thought that when a specific destination is listed you have to put them right there. So, I'm confused by this Hit line having both a distance for the slide as well as a specific destination.


1 Answer 1


I ended up answering my own question when I looked up some rules references to add to my question above. It took me a while and I looked at a couple of books before I found it though, so I figured I'd ask it anyway in case anybody else wondered about this, or in case someone has a different interpretation:

Eventually, I found this in the Rules Compendium on page 212, in a subsection entitled "Distance, Specific Destination, or Both" (emphasis added):

... When a distance is specified, it is a maximum... When a destination is specified it is absolute ... move that target to that destination or not move it at all ...

and, a little further on (emphasis added):

For instance, a character's power might say, "You slide the target up to 5 squares to a square adjacent to you (or "5 squares to a square adjacent to you)," both of which mean the character can move the target up to 5 squares, but only if the move ends in a square adjacent to that character.

So, I would say yes. I can shift to the enemy, attack them, hit, decide to shift only zero squares, and then decide not to slide the enemy at all.

Furthermore, if I had a feat that let me force additional movement, like Battering Shield (assuming my swordmage wanted to use a heavy shield for some reason...), then although I could technically slide the target up to two squares, the slide would have to end in the square I had occupied, which would be adjacent to the enemy's starting position.

Similarly, if I had a feat that let me shift more, like the Mark of Passage, I could shift 2 to the enemy, attack, hit, and then shift up to 2 away. So I could choose to be adjacent to the enemy after moving them, or not.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .