7
\$\begingroup\$

I know that readying an action is a standard action, meaning you can do some things before you ready an action, just not any standard actions.

However, can you ready a few actions together?

Can you, for example, ready both a move and a standard action? I think not since the line reads as follows;

You can ready a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action.

I would like confirmation that I'm interpreting this correctly though.

Also, can you ready a standard or move action AND a free action? Like readying a weapon drop and a move action.

Seems like that would be reasonable house rule but I'm looking for a RAW answer.

\$\endgroup\$
16
\$\begingroup\$

You can only ready one action

You certainly can't ready a standard and a move action. The rules are very specific that you ready an action.

Free actions are free!

What about adding a free action? Well:

You can perform one or more free actions while taking another action normally.

You can't literally ready both, but it seems like there's nothing preventing you from taking a free action along with your later action. Free actions accompany another of your actions; they don't seem to necessarily have to occur on your turn.

Keep in mind that if you couldn't use a free action along with your readied action, you wouldn't be able to draw ammunition or prepare spell components. Generally the rules seem to assume that if you're performing one action, a free action can come along for, well, free.

Other actions

If you can take a free action, you can take a swift action:

You can take a swift action anytime you would normally be allowed to take a free action.

Finally, the rules explicitly state that a five-foot step ("not an action") is ok:

You can take a 5-foot step as part of your readied action, but only if you don't otherwise move any distance during the round.

What the rules also say

A DM can explicitly limit your free actions, if they feel it to be reasonable. So personally, I'd allow you to drop a weapon and then move, but I might not allow you to case a quickened spell along with a readied action for spellcasting.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ So, in your view, a creature needs to or need not be fully prepared beforehand for an action to ready that action? That is, must an archer have already readied her ammunition before declaring her action and trigger as I take a standard action to make a standard attack if at any creature that rounds the corner? \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Dec 8 '14 at 9:14
7
\$\begingroup\$

No.

The ready action clearly indicates that a single action is readied.

Ready

The ready action lets you prepare to take an action later, after your turn is over but before your next one has begun. Readying is a standard action.

Readying an Action

You can ready a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action.

Emphasis mine.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.