11
\$\begingroup\$

Can you use your mount as an ally, for flanking purposes, while dismounted?

\$\endgroup\$

3 Answers 3

7
\$\begingroup\$

Yes,

It's odd that mounts aren't explicitly noted as allies anywhere that I could find.

The Rules Compendium p254 notes that all mounts can attack at -2, although few attack on their own.

Mounts are explicitly targeted separately from their rider (ibid). I find it hard to believe that a DM would not allow the mount to be the target of a beneficial effect like Shield of FaithDDI that only targets allies.

Given that, extending all rights as "allies" to the mounts seems entirely reasonable and non-controversial.

\$\endgroup\$
10
\$\begingroup\$

If the mount could attack the foe, then it can count as flanking.

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Then, in most cases, I think it would not. Mount & Rider rules in the Rules Compendium specify that a mount does not typically attack, unless it's specially trained to do so. \$\endgroup\$
    – Iszi
    Nov 5, 2010 at 14:46
  • \$\begingroup\$ There is a good chance that PCs are going to opt to buy a warhorse instead of a plain riding horse. \$\endgroup\$
    – RS Conley
    Nov 5, 2010 at 15:29
  • \$\begingroup\$ ...unless the riding horse is stumbled upon in an encounter along the way - which is in fact what prompted this query. \$\endgroup\$
    – Iszi
    Nov 5, 2010 at 16:50
0
\$\begingroup\$

Unless the mount has been trained to fight in this capacity, I would say most likely not. Warhorses are trained to fight while mounted and directed by a rider but typically do not engage in strategic combat and will still flee if left w/o guidance.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .