11
\$\begingroup\$

Can you use your mount as an ally, for flanking purposes, while dismounted?

\$\endgroup\$
7
\$\begingroup\$

Yes,

It's odd that mounts aren't explicitly noted as allies anywhere that I could find.

The Rules Compendium p254 notes that all mounts can attack at -2, although few attack on their own.

Mounts are explicitly targeted separately from their rider (ibid). I find it hard to believe that a DM would not allow the mount to be the target of a beneficial effect like Shield of FaithDDI that only targets allies.

Given that, extending all rights as "allies" to the mounts seems entirely reasonable and non-controversial.

\$\endgroup\$
10
\$\begingroup\$

If the mount could attack the foe, then it can count as flanking.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Then, in most cases, I think it would not. Mount & Rider rules in the Rules Compendium specify that a mount does not typically attack, unless it's specially trained to do so. \$\endgroup\$ – Iszi Nov 5 '10 at 14:46
  • \$\begingroup\$ There is a good chance that PCs are going to opt to buy a warhorse instead of a plain riding horse. \$\endgroup\$ – RS Conley Nov 5 '10 at 15:29
  • \$\begingroup\$ ...unless the riding horse is stumbled upon in an encounter along the way - which is in fact what prompted this query. \$\endgroup\$ – Iszi Nov 5 '10 at 16:50
0
\$\begingroup\$

Unless the mount has been trained to fight in this capacity, I would say most likely not. Warhorses are trained to fight while mounted and directed by a rider but typically do not engage in strategic combat and will still flee if left w/o guidance.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.