I'm playing pathfinder with the core rulebook only for my campaign. I wanted to take the step up feat for my monk, and I was wondering if it applies to every movement like a full movement/withdraw or specifically to the 5-foot / 1,5 meters step.
Step Up (Combat)
You can close the distance when a foe tries to move away.
Prerequisite: Base attack bonus +1.
Benefit: Whenever an adjacent foe attempts to take a 5-foot step away from you, you may also make a 5-foot step as an immediate action so long as you end up adjacent to the foe that triggered this ability. If you take this step, you cannot take a 5-foot step during your next turn. If you take an action to move during your next turn, subtract 5 feet from your total movement.
The description says "5-foot", but how can my pg be aware if the opponent is moving for a step, a full movement or even withdrawing? And if I'd have the following step feat (which I cannot take, but that's a horse of another color) I'd be able to follow for 10 feet. If this applies to every kind of movement, it makes a good combo with the feat Stand still.
Stand Still (Combat)
You can stop foes that try to move past you.
Prerequisites: Combat Reflexes.
Benefit: When a foe provokes an attack of opportunity due to moving through your adjacent squares, you can make a combat maneuver check as your attack of opportunity. If successful, the enemy cannot move for the rest of his turn. An enemy can still take the rest of his action, but cannot move. This feat also applies to any creature that attempts to move from a square that is adjacent to you if such movement provokes an attack of opportunity.
In this way, even if a npc withdraws, it's possible to vain his immunity from an attack of opportunity during the first step by following him, and then, when he provokes a second attack, stop him.
What do you think? Is this reasonable? Thanks!