4
\$\begingroup\$

I have probably simply overlooked it in the book, but three separate searches through the book have still failed to find it, so I thought I'd ask. Sorry if it's obvious and I'm just missing it.

Several spells and power reference a character's "augmented maximum" for an Attribute. I fail to find the calculation for this statistic. I'm assuming it's something fairly obvious, probably Attribute*1.5 or Attribute*2, but I'd like to know for sure.

\$\endgroup\$
6
\$\begingroup\$

Page 94, the last paragraph before "Cyberware & Bioware" heading, says the maximum augmentation to any single attribute is +4. That's the TOTAL augmentation, so if you're getting a bonus from cyberware, the max your mage friend can buff you is reduced. Likewise if you're a Burnout Adept trying to self-boost the same stat with both PP and 'ware.

A friend saw my question and messaged me the answer. I figured I should put it up here in case others are in the boat with me.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Another consideration is that not all attribute boosts stack with each other. For example, having an Adept with Improved Reflexes 3 and Improved Physical Attribute (Reaction) will not bring you up to the maximum of +4 because Improved Reflexes explicitly states that it does not combine with anything else that improves Reaction or Initiative. Many groups choose to house-rule that you may buy a 4th rank of Improved Reflexes for an additional powerpoint in order to allow characters to hit the augmented maximum. \$\endgroup\$ – Dyndrilliac Jul 15 '14 at 0:18
  • \$\begingroup\$ Indeed, thank you for pointing that out. I think that might have been a bit of a balance thing because Adepts (and MAs, mein Gott) are so good. A few initiations in and they're blinding fast anyway (as fast or faster as a 'decker or technomancer moving at the speed of information), with plenty of other powers to use and abuse. Restricting them from that last d6 of initiative doesn't seem like a huge drawback. \$\endgroup\$ – gatherer818 Jul 15 '14 at 19:08
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Dyndrilliac I believe that rule as written applies specifically to the initiative portion "the increase cannot be combined with other technological or magical increases to Initiative" \$\endgroup\$ – Mark Essel Oct 14 '15 at 1:06

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.