48
\$\begingroup\$

I was reading a review of 5e game play here from our RSS Feed. And in it he makes an observation about a strange rule:

Weird rule thing. You recover half your level in hit dice during a long rest, which means level 1 characters never recover hit dice.

That didn't make sense to me, and so I double checked the long rest rule and it reads:

At the end of a long rest, a character regains all lost it points. The character also regains spent Hit Dice, up to a number of dice equal to half of the character’s total number of them. For example, if a character has eight Hit Dice, he or she can regain four spent Hit Dice upon finishing a long rest.

And of course the rules state that in general you always round down.

Am I missing something? Is there a good explanation for why at first level you can't recover hitdice?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I thought that things related to healing always rounded up, or was I misinterpreting the rule? \$\endgroup\$ – Ave Roma May 18 '18 at 18:52
  • \$\begingroup\$ @AveRoma You always round down. \$\endgroup\$ – GMNoob May 21 '18 at 6:41
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thank you. I'm about to run a 5e campaign (I think, schedules being what they are and all), and this will prove useful. \$\endgroup\$ – Ave Roma May 21 '18 at 13:41
56
\$\begingroup\$

A few folks have mentioned to me that Mike Mearls has stated elsewhere that it's an oversight in the text, and the intent is that a level 1 character should recover 1 hit die. Seems likely errata-fodder.

@MrMattFree : Hit dice question! Basic rules say you get half your HD back at a long rest but doesn't say round up. What does a 1st lvl do?

@mikemearls : should be minimum 1.

The rules for long rests were later updated to say that the minimum is 1 hit die.

The character also regains spent Hit Dice, up to a number of dice equal to half of the character’s total number of them (minimum of one die). (PBRv0.2 p.67, PHB5e p.186)

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ The starter kit has the same issue where it is not clear if a 1st level character regains any hit dice \$\endgroup\$ – link64 Feb 11 '15 at 5:45

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.