49
\$\begingroup\$

I was reading a review of 5e game play here from our RSS Feed. And in it he makes an observation about a strange rule:

Weird rule thing. You recover half your level in hit dice during a long rest, which means level 1 characters never recover hit dice.

That didn't make sense to me, and so I double checked the long rest rule and it reads:

At the end of a long rest, a character regains all lost it points. The character also regains spent Hit Dice, up to a number of dice equal to half of the character’s total number of them. For example, if a character has eight Hit Dice, he or she can regain four spent Hit Dice upon finishing a long rest.

And of course the rules state that in general you always round down.

Am I missing something? Is there a good explanation for why at first level you can't recover hitdice?

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • \$\begingroup\$ I thought that things related to healing always rounded up, or was I misinterpreting the rule? \$\endgroup\$
    – Ave Roma
    May 18 '18 at 18:52
  • \$\begingroup\$ @AveRoma You always round down. \$\endgroup\$
    – GMNoob
    May 21 '18 at 6:41
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thank you. I'm about to run a 5e campaign (I think, schedules being what they are and all), and this will prove useful. \$\endgroup\$
    – Ave Roma
    May 21 '18 at 13:41
57
\$\begingroup\$

A few folks have mentioned to me that Mike Mearls has stated elsewhere that it's an oversight in the text, and the intent is that a level 1 character should recover 1 hit die. Seems likely errata-fodder.

@MrMattFree : Hit dice question! Basic rules say you get half your HD back at a long rest but doesn't say round up. What does a 1st lvl do?

@mikemearls : should be minimum 1.

The rules for long rests were later updated to say that the minimum is 1 hit die.

The character also regains spent Hit Dice, up to a number of dice equal to half of the character’s total number of them (minimum of one die). (PBRv0.2 p.67, PHB5e p.186)

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ The starter kit has the same issue where it is not clear if a 1st level character regains any hit dice \$\endgroup\$
    – link64
    Feb 11 '15 at 5:45

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .