35
\$\begingroup\$

The Dueling fighting style doesn't seem to state anything about shields, stating that the character can only wield one weapon while fighting to gain the benefit. Does a shield count as a weapon or otherwise stop the damage bonus from occurring?

\$\endgroup\$
41
\$\begingroup\$

No! The shield is not a weapon, this is designed to be a sword and board feature.

Shield is definitely not a weapon (no weapon stats), and there are currently no enchantments to make it a weapon. This is a feature designed for a brawler style (hand free for grappling) or a sword and board fighter.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Forgot the spellsword, who'd want a free hand for somatic components. \$\endgroup\$ – user24827 Dec 11 '18 at 20:25
18
\$\begingroup\$

The official ruling from Jeremy Crawford (D&D designer and rules arbiter at Wizards of the Coast) is that Dueling works with a shield:

"does the duelling [sic] fighting style work with sword and shield?"

It sure does!

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.