11
\$\begingroup\$

Staff of Defense class feature:

...once per encounter as an immediate interrupt, you gain a bonus to defense against one attack equal to your Constitution modifier. You can declare the bonus after the Dungeon Master has already told you the damage.

Shield Wizard Utility 2:

Immediate Interrupt Personal

Tigger: You are hit by an attack

Effect: You gain a +4 power bonues to AC and Reflex defense until the end of your next turn.

Could you activate these powers against the same triggering attack and thus stack them against the same attack?

\$\endgroup\$

2 Answers 2

11
\$\begingroup\$

No,

You may only use one Immediate ActionDDI per round.

Reminder - you cannot use an Immediate Action on your own turn.

\$\endgroup\$
4
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Not sure where using an IA during your turn comes into play here, but good response. \$\endgroup\$
    – Iszi
    Nov 15, 2010 at 22:16
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Iszi - it's one of the most commonly forgotten little rules in my group. Last month someone tried to use Shield after drawing an AO during his own turn in my game. I thought it'd be a good idea to toss it in here as a reminder. \$\endgroup\$
    – Pat Ludwig
    Nov 15, 2010 at 22:24
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Just to expand on the answer, if by some means you are permitted to use both in the same round, they should stack, as Shield is a power bonus, while Staff of Defense is an untyped bonus \$\endgroup\$ Nov 16, 2010 at 2:07
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Iszi - you've never been hit on your turn before? You should move around more, trigger some AO's and whatnot. It's fun! \$\endgroup\$
    – Pat Ludwig
    Jan 13, 2011 at 7:55
2
\$\begingroup\$

As Pat mentioned above, you are unable to use both at the same turn due to the action economy.

EDITED: I withdrew my argument regarding the utilization of action points. You cannot substitute a regular action for an immediate one, as I recalled falsely.

However, it should be noted that technically the stacking of such effects would be valid should their activation action cost allow them to be used within a certain time frame.

To conclude with an answer to the actual question (whether they stack or not):

Yes, the latter is a power-type bonus but the former is untyped, meaning that it stacks with everything in accordance to the stacking rules in the PHB.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @JohnAthanasiou what you may be recalling is the ability to use an action point to ready an action to be used later in a round. Using this action also consumes youre immediate action. \$\endgroup\$
    – wax eagle
    Dec 17, 2012 at 18:35
  • \$\begingroup\$ @waxeagle That is more than likely. I will keep that in mind next time I play 4e. \$\endgroup\$
    – Eldebryn
    Dec 17, 2012 at 18:57

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .