1
\$\begingroup\$

If a werewolf ever suffers a wound that exceeds his Health dots (it would cause him to go unconscious or start bleeding to death), and the attack could trigger Death Rage (say, it’s an exceptional success that inflicts five or more points of damage), the roll to resist Kuruth is made before the character is decreed unconscious or down. The timing of events here is important, because a character entering Death Rage gets four extra Health dots by virtue of assuming Gauru form. Those extra Health might allow him to remain conscious where he would have collapsed in another form. If the Resolve + Composure roll fails, the character enters Death Rage and assumes Gauru, potentially gaining more Health dots if he wasn’t already in Gauru form. These extra dots might be enough to keep the character conscious. If the Resolve + Composure roll succeeds, the character remains under control, remains in his current form and doesn’t go into Kuruth.

WtF p175

So does the character get 4 health dots even if they were already in Gauru form? that doesn't make sense but it seems like it might read that way.

\$\endgroup\$
7
\$\begingroup\$

No.

From the passage you have quoted: (emphasis added)

potentially gaining more Health dots if he wasn’t already in Gauru form

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ so... there's no point in making a death rage roll if you're in gauru form and you go from +4 health points to 0 in a single roll. It says to make the death rage roll before going unconscious because it could keep that from happening, but I don't see how if you're in Gauru form. hence my confusion \$\endgroup\$ – xenoterracide Aug 8 '14 at 14:42
  • \$\begingroup\$ There would be no distinct advantage, but it's still something that could happen to a character. \$\endgroup\$ – CatLord Aug 25 '14 at 2:41

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.