2
\$\begingroup\$

The micro-miniaturized feat says that whenever I build or request a gadget, I may include one additional mechanism per gadget. Does this mean I get an additional gadget pick, or that I may simply expend another gadget pick to put more mechanisms in a housing than what is usually possible?

\$\endgroup\$
2
\$\begingroup\$

The Feat Doesn't Provide Free Stuff

The Benefit of the feat Micro-miniaturized (Spycraft 2.0 197) says

When you build or request a gadget, each Mechanism is 1 size category smaller, and you may include 1 additional Mechanism per gadget.

No mention is made of how to include the additional Mechanism therefore standard rules apply. The feat Micro-miniaturized merely allows an additional Mechanism in a housing--it doesn't provide a free Mechanism. The additional Mechanism must still be built or requested,1 its cost paid normally.


  1. That is, gained when mission or personal gear can be selected, not only upon making a successful Request Check:

    [The game] generally use[s] the term "request" to mean "acquire" through any means other than picking it up in game, so the feat [Mirco-miniaturized] covers possessions and mission gear as well.

    --Patrick Kapera (04/15/08)

\$\endgroup\$
4
  • \$\begingroup\$ Please see this forum clarification on why Micro miniaturized applies to mission and personal gear: crafty-games.com/forum/index.php?topic=1465.0 \$\endgroup\$ – Mystagogue Aug 15 '14 at 3:08
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Mystagogue Fair enough. I like Pat a lot, but, man, that's a terrible design decision--thesaurus FTW, dudes. Answer edited. Anyway, why not ask on the Crafty forums? The Crafty folk are good people, too. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Aug 15 '14 at 3:50
  • \$\begingroup\$ I agree with your answer, and that's how I'd been playing it. I didn't think there was any ambiguity. But apparently my DM ruled that it was far more powerful in a previous game of his. I mean, I'd love to take all my possessions as miniature gear and get a free mechanism with each, but come on. \$\endgroup\$ – Mystagogue Aug 15 '14 at 14:09
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Mystagogue That's... pretty crazy, actually. I can see a new Control who doesn't fully understand the gear system's nuances making that call, or a Control wanting ultra-tech but infrequent gadgets (cyberpunk on a shoestring budget, maybe?), but the house-ruled feat'd be a no-brainer once everyone had some system mastery. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Aug 15 '14 at 22:28

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.