1
\$\begingroup\$

Now in the Complete Warrior book for D&D edition 3.5, there is a feat called "Power Critical" (p. 103). Its description states:

When using the weapon you selected, you gain a +4 bonus on the roll to confirm a threat.

Now does that mean that if I was using, for example, a Greataxe and I rolled a base 16 on the die, it would equal a 20 for a critical? Or would it be a +4 on damage for a critical?

I may just be overlooking something but I can't seem to get the correct picture. An explanation would be great.

\$\endgroup\$
9
\$\begingroup\$

From the d20 SRD "Actions In Combat" page:

When you make an attack roll and get a natural 20 (the d20 shows 20), you hit regardless of your target’s Armor Class, and you have scored a threat. The hit might be a critical hit (or "crit"). To find out if it’s a critical hit, you immediately make a critical roll—another attack roll with all the same modifiers as the attack roll you just made. If the critical roll also results in a hit against the target’s AC, your original hit is a critical hit. (The critical roll just needs to hit to give you a crit. It doesn’t need to come up 20 again.) If the critical roll is a miss, then your hit is just a regular hit.

The feat gives you a +4 the critical roll to confirm the critical hit.

Following your example, if you roll a natural 20 with your greataxe, you'd score an automatic hit, and a critical threat. Going forward let's assume a +10 to hit and an AC of 20 on the target. You could then roll a critical roll at +14 (thanks to the feat) vs the AC of 20. If you roll a 6 or higher, you would score a critical hit.

\$\endgroup\$
7
\$\begingroup\$

When you roll a number in your critical threat range (usually a 20), you threaten a critical hit. Check under 'Critical Hits' here. Also see this question. You then have to make another attack roll to confirm the critical. This roll, in general, consists of d20 + any modifiers that applied to your original roll against the enemy AC. If you make the confirm roll, the attack is a critical and does double damage. If you fail the confirm roll, the attack still hits, but doesn't count as a critical. This feat provides a substantial bonus, but only on the confirm roll, not on the original roll.

In your specific example, if you rolled a 16 it would not be a critical. If you required a 20 to hit (hypothetically), then a 20 would threaten a critical. When you rolled to confirm without the feat, a 20 would be required to confirm the critical (since you required a 20 to hit). However when you rolled to confirm with the feat, only a 16 or higher would be required to confirm.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.