This question already has an answer here:

When having a long rest, you regain all your hit points and half your spent Hit Dice (for use in future short rests). I know that normally when faced with fractions you round down. But then, I see no way to regain your 1 Hit Die at 1st level.

So basic question: if you are at first level, and you take a long rest, do you regain your Hit Die, or do you not because you had to halve 1 and round down?


marked as duplicate by doppelgreener, mxyzplk Aug 24 '14 at 0:33

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.


The general rule is to round down, so you round down.

Unless you are told otherwise in the rules, D&D always mandates you round down. The Long rest section has no such exception (the only exception I've seen so far is for the wizard's spell recovery)

v.2 of BD&D now includes language that indicates a minimum of 1 HD is recovered during a long rest.

The character also regains spent Hit Dice, up to a number of dice equal to half of the character’s total number of them (minimum of one die). (p 67)

  • 6
    \$\begingroup\$ Basic v0.2 does now say the minimum is 1 HD (p. 67). \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Aug 24 '14 at 4:14

Fortunately the answer is quite simple. From the Basic Rules (still applies in PHB):

Round Down There's one more general rule you need to know at the outset. Whenever you divide a number in the game, round down if you end up with a fraction, even if the fraction is one-half or greater. ~ Basic Rules, p. 4

This should apply in all cases, except where it logically should not. The case you mention here would be a good example. Remember that it is very hard to make RAW consistent and synchronized at all times when it spans hundreds of pages. A bit of interpretation is often necessary.


Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.