10
\$\begingroup\$

When a power says "Each creature in the blast", does that mean my allies are hit by the attack too? I play a Control Wizard/Witch and almost all of my powers are blast and burst that target creatures.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Sure - real military ordinance does this too. It's called "friendly fire" \$\endgroup\$ – Dale M Aug 25 '14 at 1:53
  • \$\begingroup\$ @DaleM: Friendly fire... isn't. ;-) \$\endgroup\$ – DevSolar Aug 25 '14 at 12:02
15
\$\begingroup\$

Yep, allies are hit too, otherwise it would say "each Enemy in the blast", as is the case on plenty of attacks (For example, Fire Shroud, contrast with Shock sphere).

\$\endgroup\$
12
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, it means enemies and allies

Creature

A being in the game world. Both adventurers and monsters are creatures. See also adventurer and monster. - Published in Rules Compendium, page(s) 310.

There are options for avoiding friendly fire while still laying down a burst/blast zone that includes friendlies

War Wizard's Staff feat lets you slide an ally out of the way before the attack goes off (if you are wielding an arcane implement). War Wizard Expertise applies a -5 to-hit modifier for burst and blast powers cast through a light or heavy blade against allies.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.