7
\$\begingroup\$

Empowered Evocation (PHB 177) reads:

Beginning at 10th level, you can add your Intelligence modifier to the damage roll of any wizard evocation spell you cast

The spell Ice Storm does 2 different types of damage:

A creature takes 2d8 bludgeoning damage and 4d6 cold damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one

I have an evoker with a 16 intelligence (+3 modifier). I cast Ice Storm as 4th level. Is my int bonus added to:

  1. The total damage: 2d8 + 4d6 + 3
  2. Each damage type: 2d8 + 3 and 4d6 + 3
\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ What about possibility #3? One damage type (2d8+3 bludgeoning or 4d6+3 cold damage, take your pick, hope the enemy doesn't resist or have immunity to that particular chunk of damage) \$\endgroup\$ – doppelgreener Sep 2 '14 at 8:53
  • \$\begingroup\$ @doppelgreener That is an edge case for option #1 where the DM would ask the caster which damage type it applied to when it matters \$\endgroup\$ – briddums Sep 2 '14 at 9:18
5
\$\begingroup\$

Number 1 is the correct one. You only get the damage once (And in fact on a spell like, say magic missile, which it's targeting the same creature multiple times, you still only get it once. This is not exactly addressed directly in the rules, though Mike Mearls has tweeted about it several times).

That said, which damage type it falls under is not addressed, and as such I would allow the wizard to pick. If you want to do something consistent, always applying it to the first damage instance would make sense (This seems fall well within the reading of Mearls' response).

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ The interaction with Magic Missile has conflicting answers between Mearls and Crawford in this answer, so it may not be the best example. \$\endgroup\$ – Deltatheduck Aug 29 '18 at 10:48
2
\$\begingroup\$

Quoting from the Player's Handbook errata:

Empowered Evocation (p. 117). The damage bonus applies to one damage roll of a spell, not multiple rolls.

This implies option 1.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ (Or, rather, it states that option 2 was the case, but now it is changed to option 1) \$\endgroup\$ – the dark wanderer Aug 29 '18 at 7:54
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @thedarkwanderer Or it clarified the issue; the original wording being "the damage roll", which suggests only one (unique) damage roll, which is a faulty assumption from the original writer of the ability. \$\endgroup\$ – Thanuir Aug 29 '18 at 8:54

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.