5
\$\begingroup\$

Poison spray targets only one creature (at range 10), but the description talks about "a puff of noxious gas [projected] from your palm." sounds like it should affect a creature that's in between the target and the caster (which it obviously doesn't, given RAW).

What's the position, given the Living Rules and so on?

\$\endgroup\$
14
\$\begingroup\$

You extend your hand toward a creature you can see within range and project a puff of noxious gas from your palm. The creature must succeed on a Constitution saving throw or take 1d12 poison damage. (BD&D p98)

It's targeted at 1 creature. It affects 1 creature.

This is not an area attack, it's a directed attack. It's not a spell attack, so the additional creature doesn't grant cover, or even advantage.

Only the target is directed to make a saving throw or take damage so he is the only one affected.

It's worth noting that although this seems less directed than a ranged attack, the rule is similar. Basically everyone is moving all around in their space, you couldn't be shooting your poison at someone in an intervening space, but past them. The way I'd picture this is that those folks might get a whiff of the poison, but it's less of a puff and more of a directed jet at the target.

"Living Rules" is simply a way of talking about how they plan to make system updates and has no effect on a ruling in a case like this. A DM, I suppose, could use the freedom they are granted to make a ruling that additional creatures are affected, but it seems like the effects of the spell are intended for one creature only and other rulings may be quite unbalanced.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.