18
\$\begingroup\$

When casting a spell as a bonus action, you can't cast another spell on the same turn except a 1-action cantrip - can the order be "reversed"? Can you cast a cantrip first as a bonus action, then any other spell? If not, would it be broken to allow it?

I'm thinking a Sorcerer casting a Quickened true strike, then casting a leveled spell requiring a touch attack. Seems like a great use of the cantrip + Metamagic feature, but it seems like it is not allowed.

\$\endgroup\$
23
\$\begingroup\$

No, the order doesn't matter

You cannot cast another spell if you've cast a bonus action spell, and you can't cast a bonus action spell if you've already cast a spell with your action.

"You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of one action" (PHB 202)

That precludes both before or after the action spell.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Also, just realised this Sorc 'trick' wouldn't work, because True Strike states that you gain the effect during your next turn. Bummer--clearly they did not want this to happen. \$\endgroup\$ – Khashir Sep 7 '14 at 19:22
  • \$\begingroup\$ I had a small follow-up--if you cast a L>1 spell with your action, can you then cast a cantrip with Quickened Spell as a bonus action? \$\endgroup\$ – Khashir Oct 3 '14 at 14:13
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Khashir No. You'd have to be able to cast a spell as a bonus action, and you can't do that if you've already cast one as an action. \$\endgroup\$ – wax eagle Oct 3 '14 at 17:21
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Thank you. So, Quickened Hold Monster, then Shocking Grasp is OK, but not the other way around? To be honest, I don't remember why this came up... Long week, I guess. \$\endgroup\$ – Khashir Oct 3 '14 at 23:13
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Could you address these bits about order in the answer? The comments seem to contradict the answer, so I think crafting it into a coherent whole would improve clarity. \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Apr 8 '15 at 22:32
3
\$\begingroup\$

The restriction applies regardless of the order

The rule on bonus-action spells states:

You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.

No matter when the bonus action spell is cast, you cannot have cast another spell except for a cantrip with a casting time of one action for the entire turn. This turn-based stipulation does indeed mean the restriction applies retroactively. It doesn't matter what order - as long as the two spells are cast (or attempted to be cast) on the same turn, the restriction applies.

Jeremy Crawford has also clarified and agrees with this:

Q: How do bonus action spell rules go when a noncantrip is cast as a single action then a bonus action spell?

JC: If you cast a spell of 1st-level or higher with 1 action, you can't then cast a bonus action spell.

Note that things can get confusing when applying this rule and this question has a nice table showing all the legal and illegal combinations.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.