-1
\$\begingroup\$

Looking at this question,

Does a touch spell require an attack?

I assume that touch attacks no longer ignore AC provided by armor, or more exactly because of the new armor rules, make your AC 10+DEX (10 if your armor ignores DEX modifiers?) versus those attacks.

Is this correct? If not, how do touch attacks work?

| improve this question | | | | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • 7
    \$\begingroup\$ This question appears to be off topic because it is solved by reading the rulebook, and appears to be simply a request for us to explain rules explained in a rule book the asker simply has not yet obtained. \$\endgroup\$ – doppelgreener Sep 9 '14 at 6:39
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Maybe you are right, but can be useful because the old habits from 3.5, we use to think that the rule X was very logic and that it keeps that way on the new edition. Sure someone is making touch attacks without AC in D&D 5e, I done it on one of my first session without thinking too much about it, the doubt came up later on the after play chat. \$\endgroup\$ – Corven Dallas Sep 9 '14 at 6:47
  • \$\begingroup\$ "Potentially useful for others" doesn't really justify a question that doesn't demonstrate good-faith effort at research or understanding before asking us to re-iterate (rather than explain a confusion about) something from a free-to-download pdf. \$\endgroup\$ – BESW Sep 9 '14 at 7:45
  • \$\begingroup\$ Ok, I voted myself for closing, go ahead and sorry for being off-topic \$\endgroup\$ – Corven Dallas Sep 9 '14 at 7:48
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ If, after you've read the rules, you're still confuzzled, we'll be happy to help out. \$\endgroup\$ – BESW Sep 9 '14 at 7:50
10
\$\begingroup\$

There is no longer such a thing as a 'touch attack'.

From the linked question: Touch only indicates the range, the target has to be within your natural reach (5' for a medium or small character).

If the spell says it requires an attack, that is a spell attack, not a 'touch' attack. Spell attacks are d20 + proficiency bonus + spell attack modifier, resolved against AC in the standard way. Within the current rules, a creature has a single AC value which doesn't change depending on the type of attack.

You can look up the rules on spellcasting in general and spell attacks in particular in the Basic Rules available for free use here.

| improve this answer | | | | |
\$\endgroup\$

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.