24
\$\begingroup\$

From the PHB, Appendix A on Conditions:

INVISIBLE

  • An invisible creature is impossible to see without the aid of magic or a special sense. For the purpose of hiding, the creature is heavily obscured. The creature's location can be detected by any noise it makes or any tracks it leaves.
  • Attack rolls against the creature have disadvantage, and the creature's attack rolls have advantage.

One of my players was sneaking around while invisible. Unfortunately, his Stealth roll failed to beat an NPC's Passive Perception, so he was detected. What does 'detected' actually mean?

I ruled at the time that the NPC could tell someone was there but not exactly where (because she heard the noise made by someone moving), but RAW, did she know exactly where he was?

\$\endgroup\$
30
\$\begingroup\$

Ok, crazy thing about the difference between hidden and invisible...there isn't much of one.

The big difference between the two is the ability to be attacked directly. If you are hidden, your enemy doesn't know your location, and thus cannot target you directly. They have to guess (DM should use some kind of randomization here), and may or may not actually be targeting you (See "Unseen attackers and targets" p194 of PHB).

In contrast if you are only invisible, then your enemy knows where you are and can attack you directly at disadvantage. The biggest benefit of Invisible is that it provides you with the conditions to hide continuously instead of having to find cover all the time.

The other thing this is important for is that an invisible, but detected creature isn't going to get a surprise round. An invisible but hidden creature will.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ This was bugging me to no end... glad to see that my confusion was somewhat warranted. \$\endgroup\$ – Khashir Sep 12 '14 at 5:34
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ One thing worth adding (although the OP already knows it, it is key). Being invisible means you continually qualify for the conditions to become hidden. Its one Stealth check away to upgrade and gain protection from being targeted, even after you have been "detected". So an initial fail could/should mean you can be targeted directly, but it is relatively quick to recover (shame about giving away the alarm though!) \$\endgroup\$ – Neil Slater Sep 12 '14 at 10:31
  • \$\begingroup\$ @NeilSlater you edit the answer and add this or wax eagle should. \$\endgroup\$ – RS Conley Sep 12 '14 at 13:01
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ This contradicts the Ranger's Feral Senses ability. It gives Rangers the ability to sense Invisible, but unhidden enemies, which you seem to think is something all characters can do. \$\endgroup\$ – Strill Apr 3 '15 at 8:53
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Strill This is a fine question/answer in its own right, since other classes don't have the Ranger's Feral Sense. I recommend your referencing this question and asking a question on this specific case. \$\endgroup\$ – KorvinStarmast Jan 2 '16 at 19:54
0
\$\begingroup\$

That is correct. And in the case of Feral Senses, it simply forces even a creature that is invisible to find cover or is instantly detected by a ranger or other creature with Feral Senses.

In this situation I suggest an invisible creature still hides to avoid a rangers detection until the ranger can detect and then tell the others. A GM had a similar case with my Ranger where I was able to take the help action to help my group with their perception checks. The ones who succeeded in detecting participated in a surprise round with the creature.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE. :-) This site has some particular methods that are explained in the tour and in the help center section. Please take the tour. Insofar as your answer to the question goes, I would recommend that you first address the original question, and then (since the previous answer does not cover it) spell out how Feral Sense works in this case. (Citations and page numbers from the PHB will be helpful when included in the answer). \$\endgroup\$ – KorvinStarmast Jan 2 '16 at 19:56

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.