Are mules subject to the same encumbrance rules as PCs, leading them to only be able to carry 40lbs of gear? Or is there a more realistic number someplace I'm missing?


1 Answer 1


The encumbrance rules are intended for PCs, although a rule of thumb recommended by the Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager is to double the carrying capacity for each point of Size. Thus a mule with Strength d8 and Size +2 would be able to carry 160lb without penalty, or 640lb with a -3 penalty.

However, from the two sources provided by @Phil, it seems a mule can normally carry around 20–30% of its body weight, so if you're aiming for a more realistic figure you could try a rule like "four-legged creatures double their carrying capacity".

  • \$\begingroup\$ I found a mention of that rule of thumb of Clint's but didn't manage to google up the original post. Nice find! \$\endgroup\$ Sep 15, 2014 at 16:07

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .