4
\$\begingroup\$

I know for a fact that when you roll the max on a dice, you get to reroll and add the new result.

Is this mechanic only used on talent/skill/attribute tests or is it also used for damage rolls, effects rolls and recovery rolls?

I use First Ed and use some references to third Ed and classic.

\$\endgroup\$
5
\$\begingroup\$

Yes you do. They are in fact Tests and the same rule applies.

In Game Concepts, Make a Test section it says that ever time you roll dice to resolve an action, these are called Action Dice and this is called Rolling a Test. Every time you roll Action Dice you get a Bonus dice on rolling a maximum.

Recovery Rolls are in fact Recovery Tests in the same section and see in the Combat Section under Recovering from Damage.

Damage Roll are called Damage Tests see in the Combat Section, Making a Damage Test.

Spell and Talent Effects are sometimes things like Willforce or Charisma, using a Talent, Skill or Attribute is always a Test. And hence in these case it is also true.

In fact just about any time you roll dice it is a Test and the bonus rule applies.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ In Earthdawn everything explodes! \$\endgroup\$
    – Rob
    Sep 19 '14 at 15:43
  • \$\begingroup\$ Pretty much yes. We did find an example where it did not but I can't remember it at the mo. \$\endgroup\$ Sep 19 '14 at 15:49

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.