38
\$\begingroup\$

The Dash action gives you extra movement for the current turn (equal to your speed). If I have an effect (like the Expeditious Retreat spell or the monk's Step of the Wind feature) which allows me to dash as a bonus action, can I also dash as my regular action, for triple movement?

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ Not asked, but you by the answer given you could even quintuple move with action surge and haste action. \$\endgroup\$
    – findusl
    Commented Jul 24, 2019 at 21:50

2 Answers 2

4
\$\begingroup\$

Yes.

To cover this with a current, official ruling, this is addressed in the Sage Advice Compendium at D&D Beyond:

If you have a feature like Cunning Action or Step of the Wind, can you take the Dash action more than once on your turn?

If you can take the Dash action as a bonus action, nothing in the rules prevents you from taking the Dash action with your regular action too. The same principle holds when you use a feature like Action Surge; you could use both of your actions to take the Dash action.

\$\endgroup\$
40
\$\begingroup\$

Yes.

If you can dash as a bonus action you can move, dash, and then dash again, moving thrice your speed in a round.

There is no stipulation on Dash that you can't use it as an action (if you have the ability to do so) if you've taken it as your bonus action (like there is with casting a spell as a bonus action).

\$\endgroup\$
4
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ @MonkeezOnFire That link is dead, but here is tweet from Jeremy Crawford to the same effect: twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/564971297831010304 \$\endgroup\$
    – user39842
    Commented Apr 15, 2019 at 19:18
  • \$\begingroup\$ And JC tweets are official ruling anymore, but the answer is the same. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Jul 24, 2019 at 20:11
  • \$\begingroup\$ @J.A.Streich Did you miss a negative in that comment? JC's tweets are no longer official rulings. \$\endgroup\$
    – Someone_Evil
    Commented Jul 24, 2019 at 20:17
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Lol. I know I typed not or aren't..... But yes, I missed a negative. JC's tweets aren't official anymore. It has been a pain in my butt for a while as mods keep finding my old answers. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Jul 24, 2019 at 20:20

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .